Help for English

AT SCHOOL X IN SCHOOL

 

Kdy se používa AT a kdy IN ?

Měl jsem za to, že když jsem tam jako student, tak je to AT

a naopak když tam třeba učím, tak IN?

Teď jsem narazil na : I didn't study very hard when I was in high school

Semka bych dal automaticky AT, takže jak to je? díky:)

nene, je to jinak.

I'M IN SCHOOL znamená, že jsem školák, IN HIGH SCHOOL je, že jsem středoškolák.

AT SCHOOL je, že se právě učím, jsem ve škole

Když tam učím, jsem AT A/THE SCHOOL nebo IN A/THE SCHOOL.

Jde tam o ty členy.

Zajimavy taky se mi to furt pletlo.

I'm in school – Jsem skolak (student, ktery zrovna neni ve skole)
I'm at school – Jsem ve skole (prave ted se ucim)

Je to tedy tak spravne?

Ano.

He's still in school – ještě nechodí do práce, je to ještě školák
He's still at school – ještě se nevrátil ze školy, ještě neskončilo vyučování.

Dekuji, velice pekne vysvetleno. :-)

Tohle jsem našel na netu:

Hmm… I think we're missing something here.

At school, to me, has a concrete meaning. Located at the school you attend in a physical sense. Example: I have been at school since 7 AM.

In school, on the other hand, has a conceptual, more abstract meaning. I will be in school until I graduate. I have been in school for 8 years now.

So, if I was 18, and my mother asked me “how many friends do you have at school” I might answer with the number who attend with me, at the same school.

If she asked me “how many friends do you have in school” I might also include additonal friends who do not attend my school, but who are in school somewhere, rather than drop-outs or in the work force.

So I think both have particular meanings, at least here in the Great Lakes region.

Abych pravdu řekl, tak jsem v tom taky neměl úplně jasno. Good post!

Hm vidím, že jdete na to věděcky..in school je americký úzus a at school je britský… vynecháme-li marginality, které nepopírám…

S marihuanou musý být člověk opatrný…